A Doggy Wedding Weekend- Telluride

26 Sep

You know those weekends that are just so good you don’t want to move on or believe that they’re over?  That was this past weekend for me.  I am almost depressed to know that it’s over!  As you know, Ed and I have been going to weddings like crazy this season.  We had just one more to attend before we could get back to “normal pre-wedding season weekends.”  I was most excited for this wedding though, not only was it Ed’s younger sister getting married, but her and her (now) husband, Josh, picked Telluride for their celebration.  Turns out they picked the perfect weekend.  Peak weekend in Colorado to see fall foliage and the colors changing, and the weather was awesome.

Telluride view- so many colors! Another reason to love living in Colorado

I had never been to Telluride (it is about a 6 hour drive from Denver), so I was excited to do some exploring.  My only plans were a little window shopping, hiking, and hanging out with the wedding party.  Somehow, our plans changed very quickly on Friday morning.  Ed headed up the mountain for rehearsal (we stayed right at the bottom of the gondola) and I got a call saying I needed to head up there.  The reason was that there was an adoption tent set up at the Farmer’s Market with dogs from Second Chance Humane Society.  Ed had his eye on a small, female black lab mix.  I spotted her playing with a volunteer and when I came over to the tent she jumped right into my lap.  After that I knew there was no way we were going home without her.  “Ethel” was about 11 months old, the shelter had found her and her litter abandoned and malnourished.  They rescued her and got her healthy again, so by the time we met her she had gained some weight and had a healthy, shiny coat.  After a quick interview we walked off with our new baby, which we immediately started to call “Hudson” instead.

Adopting Hudson from the Second Chance tent. So happy! 🙂

The rest of the day we spent walking around the mountain trying to get her acquainted to us and her surroundings.  She is pretty timid around new people and dogs, but she seems like she gets braver everyday and will get over that.  Luckily, the entire weekend was dog friendly and Krissi even invited Hudson to her 1st wedding!

New hiking buddy!

Hudson loves weddings, like me!

 

The actual wedding was Saturday evening on top of Telluride Mountain at the wedding deck.  The views were absolutely gorgeous.  I can’t imagine a better time of the year to get married up here.  The bride looked beautiful and the ceremony was short and very sweet and heartfelt.  I am already jealous of the pictures that these guys are going to have, they will be awesome.  After a short round of pictures we went back to the mountain house for dinner and dancing.  Such a fun night!

Wedding kiss!

Amazing backdrop…doesn’t get better!

 

We got to spend a lot of time with Ed’s family, which is always a blast, I got to spend time in one of my new favorite places in Colorado, and went home with the best little souvenir!  Definitely a weekend to remember.

Hudson “the mountain dog” ready to return to Telluride already!

Perfect song for the weekend: Telluride, Tim McGraw (love my country 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

