Bringing healthy back (into the party!)

20 Jul

There is nothing I love more than gathering with good friends and good food.  Being able to take a mid-week break with my girlfriends and catch up on each others lives is definitely something I look forward to.  Typically, the more wine, the better!  Right?  Well, I agree that it does take the edge off from work week stress, but how can a healthy girl like me conquer a situation like this? 

I am sure we’ve all been here before.  Tired, hungry, ready to eat, drink, and socialize…but somewhat nervous about over indulging.  I have a book club every month with some good friends and we always like to plan dinner or apps.  This week we went with a themed menu: pizza bar (along with caprese salad, sangria, and pepperoni galore).  While the idea sounded delicious I knew that this would be a chance for my diet plan to slip off the tracks. 

My suggestion for events like this is to bring something to share that you know you can snack on.  I decided on a fruit dip with fruit skewers.  This way I knew that no matter what other appetizers everyone brought I would have something easy and healthy to nosh on before the meals were actually served.  The pizza bar also ended up being a success and I found that I was able to modify my pizza to be pretty good!  I used a whole wheat pre-made crust with classic tomato sauce (next time I would prepare my own to bring ahead of time) mushrooms, artichokes, peppers, garlic, and basil topped with a sprinkling of low fat mozzarella.  If you are planning a small party or meeting definitely give this theme a try!

fruit skewers that I brought as an app

Here is the fruit dip recipe that I got from Iowa Girl Eats:

1- 7 oz. jar of Marsh mellow fluff (I hadn’t seen this stuff in years!)
**it is easier to mix with other ingredients if you microwave for 30 seconds or so
1- 8 oz. package of low fat cream cheese (must been room temp.)
2- tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate

Mix all ingredients well & serve!  How easy is that?  It was a great idea to fancy up my normal fruit skewers and everyone at book club loved it, I had nothing left over!

P.s.: we just finished reading This is Where I Leave You by Johnathon Tropper which was a hilarious story of a Jewish family forced into bonding after many years apart. Next up on our list is Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker, which is getting a lot of publicity right now.

Leave a Reply

